One of my New Year’s Resolution was to be more organized.  My first goal was to eliminate the mail pile that accumulates near the front door.  I was eyeing some wall organizers at The Container Store, but didn’t want to pay that much.  So, I dug some fabric out of my closet and winged it!
Inspiration:

The entire organizer measures 14 inches wide by 42 inches in length.  I doubled up the back panel to keep it sturdy.  The small pockets measures 6 inches wide by 9 inches long, and the large pocket measures 12.5 inches wide by 9 inches deep.  
Cut: 4 blocks that measure 9 inches wide by 10 inches long
1 block that measures 13.5 inches wide by 10 inches long
I finished all of the edges off with a serger, but you can simply tuck the edges under.
Grosgrain ribbon is optional but adds a nice touch.  Be sure to sew this on BEFORE you sew the pockets onto the back panel!

Next step is to sew the pocket pieces on.  First sew the side seams, spacing them about 5 3/4 inches apart (for the small pockets).  It will seem like there’s a lot of extra fabric in between, but that’s OK.

Next, tuck the excess fabric in on the bottom corners, keeping the amount even on both sides.  Sew across the bottom seam.  This will create a gusset, giving you lots of room for all of those bills!  Ha!
For the large pocket, space the side seams about 12 1/4 inches apart. You can also use your mail and magazines as a guide to how large you want your pockets to be.

You can use thumbtacks to hang it up on a wall.  I used nails at the top corners to hang mine on the door.
Happy Organizing!

Leave a comment